The Nigerian Women Trust Fund in collaboration with CentreLSD organized a Civil Society Reception in honour of some prominent Civil Society Organizations protagonists currently serving as Ministers in the President Muhammadu Buhari led administration. These awardees, who have remained prominent in championing the ideals of good governance included Hajia Amina J. Mohammed, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, Hajia Zainab Mohammed, Barr. Solomon Dalung and Alhaji Lai Mohammed.

The event was another platform for CSO advocates to  mutually reflect on  their struggles for sustainable democracy and development amongst the comity of nations. Highlights of the event included speeches given by Dr Otive Igbuzor, who spoke on the need to implement a viable national plan for the country, Olufunke Baruwa who elucidated on the need for a conscious gender mainstream, Samson Itodo, who summarized the cogency of youth participation in nation building, Eze Nwangu who illuminated on the current realities within the electoral sector, and others. 

Responding to the speeches, the Ministers present, commended the enthusiasm  of the CSO actors as having positive effect towards realigning the Country on a path to glory, although they also emphasized the need for CSOs to be more  strategic and sturdy  in their clamour for a more responsive governance. On their part, they reassured that their availability will readily serve as a medium to rely CSOs’  voices to to the government in order to  correct societal and governance anomalies .

 Awardees were presented with  plaques significantly to appreciate their selfless services to the development of the Country.

One Coment, RSS